Zone D

Figure 6: Geological map of Zone D with the concession areas on offer (Geological map is adapted from KARVAK 2022).

Zone D is mainly located within the Liquiça, Ermera, and Bobonaro Municipalities with a total estimated area of 1593 km2. This zone has a total of five (5) concession areas on offer for tender. The area of Zone D is mainly covered with the Aileu Formation, Bobonaro Complex, Maubisse Volcanic Formation, Viqueque Formations, Lolotoi Formation, Quaternary Fan Deposit, and Quaternary alluvial, with minor Baucau Formation and Cribas Formation (KARVAK 2022).

The indicated minerals within this zone are gold, copper and manganese (UN-ESCAP 2003; IPG 2015, 2016, 2020). The indicated gold mineralisation within the Ermera Municipality is noted to be associated with copper and found in the area of Letefoho (UN-ESCAP 2003). Whilst the gold mineralisation within the Liquiça Municipalities area found as minute gold grain associated with sand and gravel as potential of alluvial gold (IPG 2015, 2016).

Aside from the metallic mineralisation, there a few localities within Zone D in which there is an indication for non-metallic minerals, such as clay, limestone, and potential bentonite, marble, and gabbro especially within the Bobonaro Municipality (UN-ESCAP 2003). Not many studies focusing on exploring the metallic and non-metallic mineral resources within this zone was carried out, hence there is a lack of detail data in the area.